The blacksmith’s wife by Elisabeth Hobbes

I made a review of A Wager for the Widow, so I picked another book by the same author, The blacksmith’s wife by Elisabeth Hobbes. This is the first book in the Danby Brothers Series.

This is the story of Joanna and Hal Danby. She was rejected by her favoured knight and forced by her uncle into a marriage of convenience with non other than Hal, the illegitimate half brother of that knight.

The blacksmith's wife by Elisabeth Hobbes

I’ve read books before in which they were forced into a marriage of convenience for a reason or another, but this is different because he is not a gentlemen, as the name of the book says, he is a blacksmith. It is a lovely story and I like how Elisabeth describes the moors, as much as she shows their insecurities. I like that the story has realism, one character has some injuries, her uncle is not very pleasant. It’s not the unreal depiction of family relations that is found in the most romantic novels. But, at the same time, the realism is not too prevalent, to make the book too serious.

As I mentioned before, Elisabeth mentions the locations from which she got the inspiration for her books. In this book the locations are York, Ravenscrag, and Wharram Percy. The latter is a deserted medieval village, owned by English Heritage. I can understand why she was inspired by it. I’d love to visit it.

The blacksmith’s wife by Elisabeth Hobbes

Details about the picture: I have that small anvil from Gretna Green, quite a romantic token if one considers how many couples got married in Gretna after eloping.
My rating: 5/5 Stars.
Would I recommend it: Yes
Published by: Mills & Boon
Year it was published: 2016
Format: Paperback
Genre(s): Fiction
Pages: 362

About the author: Elisabeth grew up in York, where she developed her love for history and the past. She read History and Art History at university, before becoming a teacher. She now lives in Cheshire with her family.
In 2013 Elisabeth entered her first novel into a Harlequin contest and finished in third place. Thus, she was offered a two book contract.
Books by her: A Wager for the Widow, Falling for Her Captor, stand-alone novels.
The Danby Brothers series: The Blacksmith’s Wife & Redeeming the Rogue Knight; A midsummer knight’s kiss.
The Conquest of England series: The Saxon Outlaw’s Revenge, Beguiled by the Forbidden Knight
Website & Social Media Links:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.