A Wager for the Widow by Elisabeth Hobbes

I wanted some light books in the run up to Christmas, as before that I’ve read a lot non-fiction books. So I picked A Wager for the Widow by Elisabeth Hobbes from the library. It was the first novel by Elisabeth Hobbes that I’ve read and I’ve enjoyed it a lot.

The love story is between the widowed Lady Eleanor Peyton and her father’s steward, William Rudhale. I wasn’t keen on the book to start with, but in 50 pages or so it became quite gripping. In the end I knew I would love to read more books by her.

A Wager for the Widow by Elisabeth Hobbes

One of the things I loved is that she talks about where she gets her inspiration from. Lady Eleanor’s house is modeled on St Michael’s Mount, an isolated island in Cornwall. From the pictures, I think it looks spectacular and I’d love to visit it. Another castle that inspired her was Lindisfarne Castle, a National Trust property in Berwick-upon-Tweed. The position of her house has an important role to play in the story. Her father’s house is inspired by Ightham Mote, National Trust moated house, and Stokesay Castle, an English Heritage castle in Shropshire.

I mentioned these because I thought it would be better to talk about them and less about the book, as I might give some spoilers. A Wager for the Widow is a stand alone novel. She also has a couple of series, The Conquest of England and The Danby Brothers series.

A Wager for the Widow by Elisabeth Hobbes

Details about the picture: –
My rating: 5/5 Stars.
Would I recommend it: Yes
Published by: Mills & Boon
Year it was published: 2015
Format: Paperback
Genre(s): Fiction
Pages: 368

About the author: Elisabeth grew up in York, where she developed her love for history and the past. She read History and Art History at university, before becoming a teacher. She now lives in Cheshire with her family.
In 2013 Elisabeth entered her first novel into a Harlequin contest and finished in third place. Thus, she was offered a two book contract.
Books by her: A Wager for the Widow, Falling for Her Captor, stand-alone novels.
The Danby Brothers series: The Blacksmith’s Wife; Redeeming the Rogue Knight; A midsummer knight’s kiss.
The Conquest of England series: The Saxon Outlaw’s Revenge, Beguiled by the Forbidden Knight
You might want to check also www.stmichaelsmount.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.