Someone to Wed by Mary Balogh

Someone to Wed by Mary Balogh. The third novel in the Westcott Series, after Someone to Love and Someone to Hold,
followed by Someone to Care and Someone to Trust. As you might now if you’ve seen the first two reviews, after the death of Humphrey Westcott, the title will go to Alexander, a cousin instead of his son, as his marriage was bigamous. Alexander also inherits the titled house, a neglected property in need of repairs. Without inheriting the money, he needs a wealthy wife. Wren wants to get married and is wealthy, but she has some problems of her own.
See here the other books I’ve reviewed by her, including the ones in this series.

Someone to Wed by Mary Balogh

I loved the book, their story is wonderful, Wren has issues and those are describe in a realistic manner. I love how she evolves with the story.

One of my favourite passages from the book:
“Do you have family?”
It was a long time before she answered. “If by family you mean people with whom I have ties of blood,” she said, “then I assume so. I do not know for certain. Twenty years is a long time. But if by family you mean ties of affinity and loyalty and affection and all the things that bind the Westcott and Radley families, then no. I have no family. My uncle and aunt are dead.”

Is still an easy, light book, but it does have substance as well. The first in the series was my favourite so far, but this one comes in a very close second. It can be read as a stand-alone novel.

Someone to Wed by Mary Balogh

Details about the picture: –
My rating: 5/5 Stars.
Would I recommend it: Yes
Published by: Piaktus
Year it was published: 2017
Format: Paperback
Genre(s): Fiction
Pages: 383

About the author: Mary was born in Wales in 1944. After graduating from University in 1960s, she moved to Canada. There she was a high school teacher. She got married to the Canadian Robert Balogh and they had three children. Besides writing, she also loves music, knitting, watching tennis and curling.

Mary Balogh started writing as a hobby, in the evenings. Her first book, A Masked Deception, a Regency love story, was published in 1985. After 20 years of teaching, in 1988, she retired from teaching to pursue her dream to write full-time. She has written more than seventy novels and almost thirty novellas since then. Her best known series are the New York Times bestselling ‘Slightly’ sextet and ‘Simply’ quartet. She has won numerous awards, including Bestselling Historical of the Year from the Borders Group. She has won seven Waldenbooks Awards and two B. Dalton Awards for her bestselling novels, as well as a Romantic Times Lifetime Achievement Award.

Other books I’ve reviewed by her: Simply series, starting with Simply Perfect.

Website & Social Media Links:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.