Sacred treason by James Forrester

Sacred treason by James Forrester is the first book in the Clarenceux trilogy, a mystery series. I wanted to read this book for two reasons. First of all, I finished Sansom’s Shardlake series and this one seemed similar. Secondly, James Forrester is the pen name of Dr. Ian Mortimer, the well known historian who wrote the Time Traveller’s Guide series.

The story takes place in 1563 and Clarenceux is Catholic, which was risky at that time. Furthermore he is involved in a conspiracy. The story has a fast pace and it is interesting. It is a story of murder, betrayal, and loyalty–and the power of the written word.

Sacred treason by James Forrester

One thing I think could have been presented better in the book was the whole idea of Catholics being against burning of the heretics under Mary I. I don’t think that was right, after reading on the topic. Some were even buying cherries to enjoy while they were watching the people being burned, so not exactly an all out outrage against the burnings. Much of the history written after Mary I was Protestant propaganda and that should be taken into account when thinking of what really happened at that time. This is not really important in the book, but I would have liked that being different.

I’m looking forward to reading the two other books in the series.

Sacred treason by James Forrester

Details about the picture: –
My rating: 5/5 Stars
Would I recommend it: yes
Published by: Headline Publishing
Year it was published: 2010
Format: Paperback
Genre(s): Historical fiction
Pages: 472

About the author: Dr Ian Mortimer writes fiction under the name James Forrester. He is a historian and novelist, best known for his Time Traveller’s Guides series. Mortimer has BA, MA, PhD and DLitt degrees from the University of Exeter and UCL. He is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries, and was awarded the Alexander Prize by the Royal Historical Society in 2004.
Books by Ian Mortimer: The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation, The Outcasts of Time, The Greatest Traitor: The Life of Sir Roger Mortimer, Ruler of England 1327-1330, The Fears of Henry IV: The Life of England’s Self-Made King, 1415: Henry V’s Year Of Glory, Centuries of Change: Which Century Saw the Most Change and Why it Matters to Us, Millennium: From Religion to Revolution: How Civilization Has Changed Over a Thousand Years.
Time Traveller’s Guides series: TTG to Medieval England; TTG to Elizabethan England; TTG to Restoration Britain.
Clarenceux Trilogy: Sacred treason; The Roots of Betrayal; The Final Sacrament.
Website & Social Media Links: ianmortimer

3 thoughts on “Sacred treason by James Forrester”

  • Hello Anca,

    Did you ever try to know why Mr. historian and novelist Dr. Ian Mortimer writes under the pen name James Forrester?
    It’s really great and Brabro to you to read a total of 85 books in 2018. I am a huge coffee lover & drinker and I would love to read the book Sacred treason because I think I will like the characters of that Catholic guy Clarenceux. Is he in the main role?

  • This sounds excellent! I enjoyed Mortimer’s medieval guide and I bet I’d like this series, too. I don’t see it offered digitally through my library, so I’ve put it on my wishlist at Amazon. I’ll see what you think of the next two and go from there.
    Kelly recently posted…Books for January 2020My Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.