Dissolution by C. J. Sansom

Dissolution by C. J. Sansom is the first book in the Matthew Shardlake series. I saw a review on Kelly’s blog on the last book in the series and it sounded interesting. I reserved the book, but, following Kelly’s advice, I got the other one in the series as well. Luckily, I could borrow the first book just before going on holiday in Sussex. So, imagine my surprise when I saw that Lewes priory is mentioned a few times in the book. I took the book with me when I went to Lewes to take pictures with it.

Dissolution by C. J. Sansom

I’ve enjoyed the book a lot. I don’t usually read mystery novels, but this one was really good. Now I’m reading the second book in the series and I find it just as interesting. It has some mentions about different aspects of the dissolution which makes the book intriguing, but educational at the same time. It’s a great way to relax, after reading a lot of history non-fiction.

Getting back to the book, I think the story has a few ups and downs, making the reader want to turn page after page. At 400+ pages is not exactly a short book, but it doesn’t feel too long at all.

Dissolution by C. J. Sansom

Details about the picture: I took the picture for this book at Lewes Priory. Lewes is a lovely town, with three very interesting tourist attractions: the priory, the castle, and Anne of Cleves House Museum.
My rating: 5/5 Stars
Would I recommend it: Yes
Published by: Pan Macmillan
Year it was published: 2007 (first edition published in 2003)
Format: Paperback
Genre(s): Historical Fiction
Pages: 463

About the author: Christopher John Sansom is an English writer of crime novels. Born in 1952, he gained a BA and a PhD in history at the University of Birmingham. He worked as a solicitor, in Sussex, before deciding to work as a full-time writer.
He is known for his series of mystery historical fiction novels taking place in the 16th century. The main character is hunchbacked lawyer Matthew Shardlake. An adaptation of Dissolution is commissioned by the BBC and the others might follow. Winter in Madrid is a thriller set in 1940 Spain and deals with the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War.
Matthew Shardlake series: Dissolution, Dark Fire, Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation, Tombland.
Website & Social Media Links: –

2 thoughts on “Dissolution by C. J. Sansom”

  • I’m so glad you enjoyed this! His books always make me want to research and learn even more about what he’s discussing, so I feel they are educational, too. I’m also glad you’re reading them in order since they’re written chronologically. I believe my overall favorite is Revelation, but ever single one has been excellent, in my opinion.

    • Thank you again for the recommendation. I’m enjoying his books a lot. Now I’m at the end of the 2nd book in the series and it is great too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.