Lamentation by C. J. Sansom

Lamentation by C. J. Sansom is the sixth book in the Matthew Shardlake series. Henry VIII is vacillating between Protestantism and Catholicism, while England is torn between these two factions at the court and their power struggle. Catherine Parr had a Protestant leaning and she wrote a book, Lamentations of a Sinner, a confessional memoir.

Lamentation by C. J. Sansom

In Sansom’s novel, the book is stolen. Matthew Shardlake is called upon to lead the investigation to find it. He is involved in finding some murderers at the same time. He is also dealing with his own cases which make him end up in the Tower, for the second time. At home, his servants have their own problems, and those add up to the story.

It is a good book, I gave it 5 stars, but, for me, the first one was the best. Maybe because it was shorter too. At over 600 pages it tends to feel a bit too long at times.

Lamentation by C. J. Sansom

Details about the picture: The book is called Lamentation after Queen Catherine Parr’s book Lamentations of a Sinner, hence I took the picture with lots of books around it.
My rating: 5/5 Stars
Would I recommend it: Yes
Published by: Mantle
Year it was published: 2014
Format: Harcover
Genre(s): Historical Fiction
Pages: 642

About the author: Christopher John Sansom is an English writer of crime novels. Born in 1952, he gained a BA and a PhD in history at the University of Birmingham. He worked as a solicitor, in Sussex, before deciding to work as a full-time writer.
He is known for his series of mystery historical fiction novels taking place in the 16th century. The main character is hunchbacked lawyer Matthew Shardlake. An adaptation of Dissolution is commissioned by the BBC and the others might follow. Winter in Madrid is a thriller set in 1940 Spain and deals with the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War.
Matthew Shardlake series: Dissolution, Dark Fire, Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation, Tombland.
Website & Social Media Links: –

2 thoughts on “Lamentation by C. J. Sansom”

  • Glad you’re still enjoying this series. Yes, they tend to get longer as they go… book seven is the longest, I think, at over 800 pages. Still, he includes so much interesting stuff in his novels, it keeps them from bogging down (in my opinion).
    Kelly recently posted…A decade of readingMy Profile

    • I finished the last one at the weekend and I feel that one was a bit too long. I’ve enjoyed it and I would read a 8th one if he publishes it, but hopefully it will be a bit shorter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.